Book Binding.

IMG_3031.JPG

For my Third Year Illustration Project I have been researching & practicing ways to book bind as I am making my own set of books as well as a printed version for the final exhibition in May.

Basing a lot of the research on medieval book binding and leather journal making, I found lots of useful online pages where they go through making the book/journal step by step with pictures following the steps. This really did make it easier to learn how to bind really quickly, with the outcomes nice looking and almost professional.

I have made books using various different stitches such as: Long stitch, 5 hole pamphlet stitch, Japanese book binding methods, perfect binding, section sewn, coptic binding. From this research and trials I would then be able to choose/decide which method best suits the books that I am creating.

Leave a Reply

